Learn more:

COF Banner.png

We launched our Coalition for the Future of Education to lend our voice, networks, and compassionate school model to learning communities striving toward equitable access, opportunities, and resources for all students and families.


Our Coalition highlights our commitment to diversity and inclusion and is the embodiment of our Heart Centered Learning framework. 

The Coalition for the Future of Education represents a diverse group of individuals and organizations dedicated to supporting and positively impacting the future of education in the United States and globally.


We envisions a world that leans in with heart and compassion for self, others, and our environment, where people and institutions are dedicated to expanding conscious acts of caring, building resiliency, and advancing learning, equity, and justice.

We envision safe and equitable schools with education that serves as the foundation for our humanity; it is flexible and empowering. There is room for adventure, students drive their own learning, learning and self-understanding are celebrated, and communities support their individual and collective self-care, and well-being.

Join Us!

  • Learn more about our efforts in our brochure.

  • Invite the young people in your personal and professional circles to learn more about the Coalition and to join us as a Youth Member.

  • Read and sign-on to the Coalition’s letter to President Biden’s Administration.

To learn more about our Coalition for the Future of Education, check out our Flipbook.

View our listing of individuals and organizations who have joined our Coalition.

Coalition Leaders
Dr. Chris Mason, Executive Director, Center for Educational Improvement (VA)
Paul Liabenow, Executive Director, Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals Association (MI)

Dr. Melissa  Patschke, Coalition Director and Principal, Upper Providence Elementary School (PA)

Coordinating Committee Members 
Brian Aikens, Teacher, Upper Providence Elementary School (PA) 
Dana Asby, Director of Innovation and Research Support, Center for Educational Improvement (CT) 
Dr. Matt Bergey, Dean of Social, Emotional and Academic Learning, Boyertown Area School District (PA) 
Mehir Badlani, Junior, CB South High School, Central Bucks School District (PA) 
Whitney Becker, North Carolina State University, Doctoral Student Applied Social and Community Psychology (NC) 
Liza Caraballo-Suarez, Principal, Magnet School of Architecture, Engineering & Design, P.S. 120 (NY) 
Aiden Cardwell, Student, Alpena Elementary School (MI)
Eric Cardwell, Retired Elementary School Principal (MI)
Cristine Chen, CEI Intern, Pepperdine University (CA)
Sue Choi, Principal, Spring City Elementary Hybrid Learning Center (PA) Audrey Choi, Student, The Hill School (PA)
Jillayne T. Flanders, Early Childhood SEL Consultant (MA)
Dr. Kevin K. Green, Engineer and Founder, Akasha Learning Systems (VA)
Dr. Robyn Hansen, Professor of Practice, College of Education, Northern Arizona State University (AZ)
Kahlil Kuykendall, Gender Economist & Mindfulness Educator, Adjunct Professor, George Washington University (DC)
Alfonso Lopez, Principal, Lewis & Clark Elementary School(WA)
Julia Murphy, Student, Providence College (RI)
Dr. Michele Rivers Murphy, Associate Director, Heart Centered Learning, Center for Educational Improvement (MA)
Bria Nartey, Student, Avon Grove High School (PA)
Dr. Renee Owen, Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership, Southern Oregon University (OR)
Kaya Payton, Student, Riverhead High School Student (NY)
Thomas Payton, Principal, Roanoke Avenue Elementary School (NY)
Dr. Nancy Phenis-Bourke, International Educational Consultant (FL)
Kevin Simpson, Managing Director KDSL Global (TX)
Mark Terry, Deputy Director, Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TX)
Karin Tulchinsky-Cohen, Vice Principal, Montgomery County Public Schools (MD)
Carrie Vieira, ELA Specialist, Montgomery County Public Schools (MD) 

For more information on our Coalition for the Future of Education, Contact CEI's Coalition Director 
Dr. Melissa Patschke