Mary Woods, MA

Leadership Associate and Trustee

Mary Woods has served as a teacher, media specialist, curriculum consultant, assistant principal, and principal. She is collaborating with CEI to facilitate our leadership and Heart Centered Learning frameworks.

Mary is national presenter and has authored multiple grants, receiving over $1.6 million for 21st Century Learning and Supplemental Educational Services grants.

Mary has a strong background in science and is also assisting CEI with STEM/STEAM workshops for Administrators. A cum laude graduate from Benedict College, Mary received her master’s degree in elementary education from the University of South Carolina. Mary not only is known for her leadership, she cultivates excellence in those who work with her. She has received numerous awards, among the many, awards as the National Distinguished Principal, Order of the Palmetto- the highest civilian honor in South Carolina, NASA Ambassador, SCASA Principal of the Year, the SC PTA Principal of the Year, and Teacher of the Year.

Mary Woods has had a library named after her, a day declared in her name by the Mayor of Greenville, and commendations from the South Carolina State and Senate. She has also been a Milken finalist. She has also held numerous offices including being President of Elementary Division of SCASA. Under Mary’s leadership, her school received over 30 top honors (for reading, PTA, writing, science, service learning, web site, art, and public relations). Among these were the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award, Milken Teacher of the Year, International Science Teacher of the Year, National Exemplary Reading Award, State PTA Program of the Year Award, State Exemplary Writing Hall of Fame Mentor, National Public Relations Golden Achievement Award, South Carolina International Reading Award, National Science Teaching Award, Astronomy & Space Science Award, CIBA-GEIGY Award for Excellence in Elementary Science, International Science Teacher of the Year, NCNB Young Artist Showcase Award, NASA Newest Program, National Presidental Award for Math and Science, and the North American Invention Convention Winner.