March 18, 2021

Coalition for the Future of Education

We launched our Coalition for the Future of Education (Coalition) to lend our voice, networks, and compassionate school model to learning communities striving toward equitable access, opportunities, and resources for all students and families. Our Coalition, led by Dr. Melissa Patschke—principal, Upper Providence Elementary School (Royersford, PA) and an adjunct faculty member in educational leadership at Immaculata and Neumann Universities—highlights our commitment to diversity and inclusion and is the embodiment of our Heart Centered Learning framework.

The Coalition represents a diverse group of individuals and organizations dedicated to supporting and positively impacting the future of education in the United States and globally.

We envision a world that leans in with heart and compassion for self, others, and our environment, where people and institutions are dedicated to expanding conscious acts of caring, building resiliency, and advancing learning, equity, and justice.

We envision safe and equitable schools with education that serves as the foundation for our humanity; it is flexible and empowering. There is room for adventure, students drive their own learning, learning and self-understanding are celebrated, and communities support their individual and collective self-care, and well-being.

To learn more about our Coalition for the Future of Education, check out our Flipbook.

  • Learn more about our efforts in our brochure.
  • Invite the young people in your personal and professional circles to learn more about the Coalition and to join us as a Youth Member.
  • Read and sign-on to the Coalition’s letter to President Biden’s Administration.

For more information, contact CEI’s Coalition for the Future of Education Director, Dr. Melissa Patchske.

Coordinating Committee Members
Brian Aikens, Teacher, Upper Providence Elementary School (PA)
Dana Asby, Director of Innovation and Research Support, Center for Educational Improvement (CT)
Dr. Matt Bergey, Dean of Social, Emotional and Academic Learning, Boyertown Area School District (PA)
Mehir Badlani, CB South High School, Spring-Ford Are School District (PA)
Whitney Becker, North Carolina State University, Doctoral Student Applied Social and Community Psychology (NC)
Liza Caraballo-Suarez, Principal, Magnet School of Architecture, Engineering & Design, P.S. 120 (NY)
Edgardo Castro, Principal, Lincoln Elementary School (NM)
Cristine Chen, CEI Intern, Pepperdine University (CA)
Sue Choi, Principal, Spring City Elementary Hybrid Learning Center (PA) Audrey Choi, Student, The Hill School (PA)
Jillayne T. Flanders, Early Childhood SEL Consultant (MA)
Dr. Kevin K. Green, Engineer and Founder, Akasha Learning Systems (VA)
Dr. Robyn Hansen, Professor of Practice, College of Education, Northern Arizona State University (AZ)
Kahlil Kuykendall, Gender Economist & Mindfulness Educator, Adjunct Professor, George Washington University (DC)
Alfonso Lopez, Principal, Lewis & Clark Elementary School(WA)
Julia Murphy, Student, Providence College (RI)
Dr. Michele Rivers Murphy, Associate Director, Heart Centered Learning, Center for Educational Improvement (MA)
Bria Nartey, Student, Avon Grove High School (PA)
Dr. Renee Owen, Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership, Southern Oregon University (OR)
Kaya Payton, Student, Riverhead High School Student (NY)
Thomas Payton, Principal, Roanoke Avenue Elementary School (NY)
Dr. Nancy Phenis-Bourke, International Educational Consultant (FL)
Kevin Simpson, Managing Director KDSL Global (TX)
Mark Terry, Deputy Director, Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TX)
Karin Tulchinsky-Cohen, Vice Principal, Montgomery County Public Schools (MD)
Carrie Vieira, ELA Specialist, Montgomery County Public Schools (MD)