Mindfulness Based Mentoring: A Focus on Students from Pre-K to Higher Education

 

Join us for this IMA Webinar!

Mindfulness-Based Mentoring: A Focus on Students from Pre-K to Higher Education

Attend this webinar to explore the rationale for understanding mindfulness as applied to mentoring — including the research on neuroplasticity and the effectiveness of mindfulness in reducing stress and improving well-being, trends on its use, and the relationship to academic achievement. Participate in sample exercises and explore guidelines for how mentors could use mindfulness as they coach students and adults. The webinar is based on Dr. Christine Mason’s recent book, Mindfulness Practices: Cultivating Heart Centered Communities where Students Focus and Flourish (co-authors: Dr. Michele Rivers Murphy and Dr. Yvette Jackson) to be published in 2018. Explore the theory behind mindful education and the interrelated nature of physiology, cognition, emotions, and mindfulness. Based on best practices for schools and classroom education environments, the ideas are easily adaptable to all mentoring fields.

Goals:

To explore mindfulness and it relationship to mentoring success.

To reflect on individual mentoring practices applied to student development.

Presenter:

Dr. Christine Mason, Executive Director of the Center for Educational Improvement.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

3:00 pm Eastern, 2:00 pm Central, 1:00 pm Mountain, 12:00 pm Pacific

Register Here

IMA members come from widely diverse backgrounds and work in fields of higher education, medical and health care, government, business/corporate, military, consultants, PreK-12 education, and non-profit institutions. The IMA Webinars provide guidance and opportunities to increase knowledge and expertise in mentoring.

About the Presenter:

Dr. Christine Mason is Executive Director of the Center for Educational Improvement, a cognitive psychologist, and an educational researcher with over 30 years’ experience. She has led research and professional development, encompassing mentor programming at several national organizations, including National Association of Elementary School Principals. Dr. Mason also has been a yoga teacher for 17 years, teaching weekly yoga and meditation classes. She was certified by the International Kundalini Yoga Teacher’s Association and also Radiant Child Yoga (A Yoga Alliance organization). She served as an interim principal at an international boarding school in India. Mason received her doctorate and master’s degrees in cognitive psychology from the Ohio State University and her bachelor’s in elementary education from the University of Oregon.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *